Iron Man 3 Movie Review

Iron-Man-3

My review of Iron Man 3 contains big spoilers so you have been warned. If you haven’t seen the movie and you don’t want a big twist ruined for you then stop reading now. Seriously, spoilers are given and this is your final warning.

Now I am going to be really honest with you guys. The first Iron Man movie is one of my all-time favorite comic book movies, but IM2 was such a disappointment to me. IM2 felt like the focus was being a showy over-the-top spectacle that lacked heart amongst other things. So way back at the first mention of IM3, I remember giving a big sigh and shaking my head. I was worried that it would be a downward spiral. Then the first trailer came out and it gave me chills. I was hooked. Just the trailers alone were enough to know that this movie had potential and I felt it wouldn’t follow in the footsteps of its hollow predecessor. Those feelings from the trailers proved correct as Shane Black delivers an exceptionally good movie.

I was really expecting IM3 to be a completely stand-alone movie, but I really love that they showed how the incidents from The Avengers movie had affected him. We find Tony Stark has been affected both mentally and physically from the events in the NYC attack, as well as a strain in his relationship with Pepper Potts. It was great to see such growth for his character. The entire cast did an amazing job, but RDJ really gave the audience a heartfelt and emotional performance as Tony Stark. I think it is safe to say that this movie proves that it is the man that makes the suit and not the suit that makes the man.

This movie was filled with great laughs, a lot of action, and a lot of super sexy Iron Man suits. It was great to see the use of Extremis as well. Even Pepper Potts was given real time to shine in this movie. We saw her suit up and make the armor look even sexier, as well as kick some major ass. Seriously guys, she was awesome.

iron_man_3_trailer

My only real complaint about this movie is the twist chosen for the Mandarin. I remember since the first movie was announced that fans of the comic were dying for the Mandarin to play a part on the big screen. In the comics he is one of Iron Man’s biggest villains. I remember seeing the first pictures of Sir Ben Kingsley as Mandarin and thinking “Yes this seems like a good cast choice” but then the portrayal of him in the movie started a little… off. Then the huge twist comes that he isn’t even real. Instead Kingsley was playing some goofy actor that was made to look like a terrorist while the real threat was all behind the scenes.

Now don’t get me wrong, he gave us a great performance. For fans of the comic it is likely to feel a little like a letdown, but those not familiar with the comics probably enjoyed this goofy and surprising twist on the Mandarin. So again I say it was great performance, but it just wasn’t what I was expecting to see for such a classic Marvel villain.

Overall I would give this movie 4.5 out of 5 stars. Despite my one issue with the portrayal of the Mandarin, I can’t help but to love this movie. Honestly I don’t think we could have gotten a better Marvel movie to follow after The Avengers. Kudos to Shane Black for showing that sequels can be strong and making up for the lack of everything in Iron Man 2.

[Pic sources: gifilmfestival.com & hollywoodreporter.com]

Leave a Reply

