Free Comic Book Day!

FCBD13WideLogo

Just a reminder for all my fellow comic book enthusiasts that this Saturday, May 4th is Free Comic Book Day. If you don’t know what FCBD is, then please continue to read on!

So what is Free Comic Book Day and why should you care? Every year on the first Saturday in May, participating comic book stores give away FREE comic books! Some stores do have rules for their participation, such as a maximum number of comics that you can receive, but most are pretty fair. I am posting a link below so that you can find a participating comic book shop near you! There is a great list of set comics that were produced specifically for FCBD which you can also check out on the website. Personally I am looking forward to The Walking Dead, Superman, & Mass Effect issues for FCBD.

I think FCBD is important because it helps bring people into our local comic shops. In this day of digital media and the ever growing ease of online shopping with giants such as Amazon, it can be hard for our local shops. I do read some digital comics, but I am old school and always prefer to hold a physical copy in my hands. I no longer live near a comic book shop and it is sad to not have one to go to ever week and check out the newly released comics. A world without comic book shops sounds like a sad world to me!! So show them some love this weekend and pick up some free comics and maybe some that aren’t free.

Another great thing about FCBD is picking up some of these free titles for someone else. Maybe you have a kid that is now old enough to read them or a skeptical friend or family member that you want to convert. There are plenty of great titles this year and they always cater to a diverse range of people. Whether for a child or adult, you are sure to find something that they might like!

Some stores go all out for FCBD and have signings with guest artists and writers. You never know what might be happening at your local store. So click the link below and find out!

http://www.freecomicbookday.com/StoreLocator

http://www.freecomicbookday.com

One thought on “Free Comic Book Day!

  1. Heya! I know this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.

    Does operating a well-established website such as yours take a massive amount work?
    I am brand new to running a blog however I do write
    in my journal daily. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

