Five Games I Wish Had Co-op

I’m currently playing Dead Space 3 and I plan to have a review on that once I finish. Until then, I thought I would share my top five current-gen games that I wish had co-op.

5. Just Cause 2- This game may not make anyone else’s list, but I really enjoyed it. I spent countless hours on this game just running around blowing up stuff. There’s an overwhelming number of collectibles and missions on this game. Sadly, it can get lonely blowing up things alone.

Using C4 is always more fun with a friend!
Using C4 is always more fun with a friend!

4. GTA series- I enjoyed the GTA series on PS2, but I really didn’t spend a lot of time on GTA 4. I did however, enjoy the Saints Row series which was a fun co-op experience. While I think I enjoyed Saints more because of the silly aspects of the game, I think GTA would be improved for me if I had a partner in crime.

I wanna blow things up with you!
I wanna blow things up with you!

3. Sims 3- I absolutely love the Sims franchise. I will gladly play this game alone and I do so often. Yet I can’t help but to wonder what this game would be like if you could play online and invite your friend’s sim over. You could work on in-game goals, have drinks and dance the night away, or be devious and attempt to steal their significant other. Maybe you want to be their significant other, share a household together, and do that baby making thing! Or maybe just “Woo hoo” and leave babies out of the equation. Diaper changing? Gross!

The options are endless for friendly shenanigans.
The options are endless for friendly shenanigans.

2. Skyrim- This game has devoured so many hours of my life and I have no regrets about it. I travel around with my wife/companion (who carries most of my loot of course) and we wreak havoc. But what if that AI companion could be a real friend?

I remember the first week I had this game, I encountered a brawl between a giant, a mammoth, and a saber-tooth tiger. I stood and just marveled at the beauty and awesomeness of this game. Then a dragon swooped down and joined me. I remember geeking out and yelling “How awesome is this?” and no one was around but my dog, which was unfortunate because he could care less. Disappointing!

Skyrim is just too damn beautiful to always witness alone.
Skyrim is just too damn beautiful to always witness alone.

1. Dragon Age- The first time I saw gameplay of Dragon Age, I thought it was online. Bioware teases you for having a four player set up and not allowing any type of co-op. Instead of switching between all four characters, I would love at least one friend to jump in and take control of a companion. It seems like the perfect game for drop-in/drop-out co-op.

We could hold hands or just fight dragons. Ya know whatever!
We could hold hands or just fight dragons. Ya know whatever!

Do you agree or disagree? And feel free to share your top five. I want to hear from you!

[Photo sources: Fanpop.com, gamepressure.com, gta4.net, thegamershub.net, & ea.com]

4 thoughts on “Five Games I Wish Had Co-op

    1. Yeah my draft initially said “full co-op” and I should’ve left that. I tried GTA4 multiplayer modes, but I wasn’t really interested.

  1. I definitely agree with Dragon Age and Skyrim. Not that I play co-op very often. Actually, the only games I’ve ever played co-op on are Borderlands 1 and 2, Dead Island and Dead Rising 2. And of those, the only one I spent more than an hour in co-op on is Borderlands 2. I really need to find a group of people to play games with, everyone else seems to have one.

  2. I love Borderlands & Dead Rising games! I grew up playing video games with my brother and passing the controller back in forth to beat campaigns. I love the shared experience. I am fortunate to have an amazing co-op partner now. You should join us in BL2 sometime. Once we finish with DS3, I am sure we’ll be back to the Borderlands grind.

Leave a Reply

